Jane Lambert : The Start Of Something Wonderful

 

 

I’m pleased to be taking part in the blog tour for the audiobook of which The Start Of Something Wonderful. My review is written with thanks to Rachel Gilbey at Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me on the tour and for my copy of the audiobook.

Blurb:

 

Previously published as Learning to Fly

It’s never too late to follow your dreams…

Forty-year-old air stewardess, Emily Forsyth, thought she had everything a woman could wish for: a glamorous, jet-set lifestyle, a designer wardrobe and a dishy pilot boyfriend. Until he breaks up with her…

Catapulted into a mid-life crisis she wishes she’d had earlier, she decides to turn her life upside-down, quitting her job and instead beginning to chase her long-held dreams of becoming an actress!

Leaving the skies behind her, Emily heads for the bright lights of London’s West End – but is it too late to reach for the stars?

Don’t miss this heartwarming and uplifting debut, perfect for fans of Colleen Coleman and Cate Woods!

Review:

I’m a relative newcomer to audiobooks but I enjoyed listening to The Start Of Something Wonderful. It has an episodic structure which is perfect for listening in reasonably short bursts and each chapter has its fair share of humorous anecdotes. These stories allowed me to relate to Emily as I have found myself in similar situations. I really admired her for taking the leap into the acting world from a stable job in order to fulfil her dreams, and I was rooting for her the whole way through.

It is not just Emily who provides the heartwarming moments in The Start Of Something Wonderful. Emily’s family and friends, who are all voiced brilliantly with different accents, also allow Lambert to explore some really interesting themes such as grief, dementia and extra marital relationships.

The audio version of The Start Of Something Wonderful has background music which helps the set the scene, particularly for the theatrical scenes. This really drew me into what was happening and made me feel like I was there with Emily.

The ending of The Start Of Something Wonderful is left very open. Does this leave room for a sequel? I’d love to read it if so!

The Start Of Something Wonderful is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s