Gary Bell: Beyond Reasonable Doubt

Today I’m pleased to be sharing my review of Beyond Reasonable Doubt. It’s written with thanks to Emma Welton of damppebbles Blog Tours for inviting me on the tour and for my copy of the book via Netgalley.

Blurb:

The start of a fantastic new legal series, perfect for fans of Robert Galbraith, written by an acclaimed QC Elliot Rook is the epitome of a highly successful, old-Etonian QC. Or so everyone believes. In fact, he is an ex-petty criminal with a past that he has spent decades keeping secret. Until now… An unidentified young woman of Middle Eastern origin has been found murdered on the outskirts of Rook’s home town. Billy Barber – a violent football hooligan and white-supremacist – is accused of her murder. Barber insists that Rook must defend him. If Rook refuses, Barber will expose him, bringing crashing to the ground the life and career that Rook has spent his life building. The truth is there for the finding. But at what cost?

Review:

Elliot Rook QC is not your average barrister. It is this that first attracted me to him and I loved getting to know him. He certainly has a few stories to tell: some that made me laugh and some that are incredibly poignant. I am interested to see where the series takes him.

His assistant  Zara Barnes, is also an intriguing character. Her age and background make her feel like a fish out of water in Chambers, but I enjoyed reading as she grew in confidence as the novel progressed. I can’t wait to see her grow further in the future.

The courtroom is not an environment with which I am familiar, so it did take me some time to get to grips with the terminology in the novel. However, once I did, I loved the drama: it gripped me all the way through. I also found the courtroom customs and practices.

Beyond Reasonable Doubt took a few chapters to get off the ground for me, but once it did, I became invested in Billy’s plight and the outcome of the case. There are plenty of twists that kept me on my toes until the end.

Beyond Reasonable Doubt is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

One thought on “Gary Bell: Beyond Reasonable Doubt

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s