Tracey Garvis-Graves: The Girl He Used To Know

Today I’m taking part in the blog tour for The Girl He Used To Know. My review is written with thanks to Tracy Fenton for inviting me on the tour and to the publisher for my copy of the book via Netgalley.

Blurb:

What if you had a second chance at first love?

Annika Rose likes being alone.
She feels lost in social situations, saying the wrong thing or acting the wrong way. She just can’t read people. She prefers the quiet solitude of books or playing chess to being around others. Apart from Jonathan. She liked being around him, but she hasn’t seen him for ten years. Until now that is. And she’s not sure he’ll want to see her again after what happened all those years ago.

Annika Rose likes being alone.
Except that, actually, she doesn’t like being alone at all.

The Girl He Used to Know is an uplifting novel full of surprising revelations that keep you turning the page. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Gail Honeyman, Jill Santopolo and Sliding Doors.

Review:

Despite the romantic theme, The Girl He Used To Know is far from the average romance novel and I loved every minute of it. Annika is an unconventional heroine, but I felt a lot of empathy towards her character, and found her relationship with Jonathan absolutely adorable. It was clear to me from the outset that Annika is not neurotypical and I really appreciated the care that Garvis-Graves took to ensure the portrayal was accurate right down to the sensory issues Annika experienced.

The Girl He Used To Know is set across two timelines: the early 1990s and 2001. This was really effective for me in terms of showing how the characters’ relationship had developed and changed over time. It did take me some time to realise the significance of the dates, but once I did, the tension created by the alternating time frames was really engaging.

As The Girl He Used To Know reaches its conclusion, there is a lot of tension  At this time, I was desperate to know how things would work out for Annika and Jonathan and was reading way past my bedtime! Even when I had finished the book, I didn’t want to leave the characters behind!

The Girl He Used To Know is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

One thought on “Tracey Garvis-Graves: The Girl He Used To Know

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s