Isabel Ashdown: Lake Child

Today I’m delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Lake Child. My review is written with thanks to Tracy Fenton for inviting me on the blog tour and to the publisher for providing my copy of the book via Netgalley..

Blurb:

You trust your family. They love you. Don’t they?

When 17-year-old Eva Olsen awakes after a horrific accident that has left her bedbound, her parents are right by her side. Devoted, they watch over her night and day in the attic room of their family home in the forests of Norway.

But the accident has left Eva without her most recent memories, and not everything is as it seems. As secrets from the night of the accident begin to surface, Eva realises – she has to escape her parents’ house and discover the truth. But what if someone doesn’t want her to find it?

An edge-of-your-seat, atmospheric psychological thriller for fans of Lucy Clarke and Erin Kelly.

Review:

Lake Child is the first book I’ve read by Isabel Ashdown but it won’t be my last. The setting in Norway is absolutely beautiful and the writing brought me right into the novel as I wondered what had happened to Eva.

From the beginning of Lake Child it is clear that quite a few of the characters have secrets and this brings up so many questions. I needed answers, and just as I thought I was getting near – more than once – the author threw in a twist that made me rethink everything! I was gripped the whole way through.

Lake Child is not just the story of Eva  At the beginning of the second part, we meet Maxine, whose chapters take the form of an interview. As Eva’s chapters are told in the first person, this means that the reader only hears the story from these viewpoints. This made it easier for me to sympathise with them, but harder for me to detect if they were telling the truth. Despite their obvious flaws, I enjoyed getting to know these characters and learning more about their part in the story.

Lake Child is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s