Jessica Eames: Bad Seed

Today I’m pleased to be taking part in the blog tour for Bad Seed. My review is written with thanks to Tracy Fenton for inviting me on the tour and the publisher for providing my copy of the book via Netgalley.

Blurb:

For fans of Adele Parks and Clare Mackintosh

Family is more than blood. More than DNA. You can choose your family.
But what if you choose wrong?

Nicola thought she’d gotten away with it.

Since her husband died, life has been getting back on track. She has a new boyfriend, Phil. A new home, living next door to her brother-in-law, his wife and their children. She is closer than ever with her daughter, Sarah. She even likes her job at the local shop, though she’s had some time off recently with illness. The doctor says its menopause, that it’s nothing to worry about. As if he could know how she’s feeling.

Nicola is finally moving on with her life.

But then she receives the note. Someone knows what she did. They know the secret she doesn’t even think about when she is alone.

Nicola is going to die. Just like her husband did.

A gripping domestic thriller told from the points of view of three women from the same family, each with their own heart-wrenching revelation.

Review:

From the prologue, it is clear that there are lots of secrets in Bad Seed and my interest was immediately piqued. I really enjoyed learning more about the characters and what made them tick, trying to work out what they are all hiding from each other. The novel is structured so that each section has a different narrator and this gives us insight into the characters’ lives.

It is hard to believe that Bad Seed is a debut novel. Eames’ writing is so slick and engaging. I loved the way she combined psychological thriller with police procedural to allow the reader to see what was happening from all sides of the story so that we were able to make our own guesses as to the outcome. The novel is fast paced and Eames builds tension brilliantly with heart stopping moments at the end of each chapter.

As the novel progresses, there are lots of twists and turns and I loved reading from the edge of my seat as the secrets unravelled.

Bad Seed is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

 

One thought on “Jessica Eames: Bad Seed

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s