Emma Cooper: The First Time I Saw You

Today I’m delighted to be part of the blog tour for The First Time I Saw You. My review is written with thanks to Anne Cater for inviting me on the tour and the publisher for providing my copy of the book via Netgalley.

Blurb:

From the author of The Songs of Us (shortlisted for the RNA Contemporary Novel Award) comes a love story that will ‘break your heart, but put it back together again’ (Katie Fforde). Fans of Jojo Moyes and Lucy Dillon will love The First Time I Saw You by Emma Cooper.

Lost:
Six-foot-two Irish man who answers to the name Samuel McLaughlin.
Has weak shins and enjoys show tunes.
If found, please return to Sophie Williams.

Before Sophie met Samuel she saw the world in grey.
Before Samuel met Sophie, he never believed in love at first sight.

When they first meet, something tells them they are meant to be.
But fate has other ideas.

Now they have lost each other and can’t see a way back.
But they’ve already changed each other’s lives in more ways
than they ever expected…

Review:

I think I felt every emotion reading this book! I laughed out loud, I cried buckets, I was anxious and I was frustrated! Emma Cooper is a fabulous writer and I really admire the way she can suck the reader into her characters lives. I loved her use of music and film references to highlight their personalities as it really helped me to relate to them.

Sophie and Samuel’s relationship has more ups and downs than the big rollercoaster at Alton Towers and I was completely invested in their story from beginning to end. I couldn’t help but warm to them and root for them.

In The Last Time I Saw You Emma Cooper explores several themes, all of which struck a chord with me. They are all researched in minute detail and Cooper covered things I’d never even thought about.

I finished this book an emotional wreck but I enjoyed every second of it!

The First Time I Saw You is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

2 thoughts on “Emma Cooper: The First Time I Saw You

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s