Jackie Baldwin: Dead Man’s Prayer

 

Blurb:

The first in an exciting new Scottish crime thriller series. Perfect for fans of L J Ross, Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves.

Ex-priest DI Frank Farrell has returned to his roots in Dumfries, only to be landed with a disturbing murder case. Even worse, Farrell knows the victim: Father Boyd, the man who forced him out of the priesthood eighteen years earlier.

With no leads, Farrell must delve into the old priest’s past, one that is inexorably linked with his own. But his attention is diverted when a pair of twin boys go missing. The Dumfries police force recover one in an abandoned church, unharmed. But where is his brother?

As Farrell investigates the two cases, he can’t help but feel targeted. Is someone playing a sinister game, or is he seeing patterns that don’t exist? Either way, it’s a game Farrell needs to win before he loses his grip on his sanity, or someone else turns up dead.

Review:

I have been meaning to read Dead Man’s Prayer for so long and it was so worth the wait! I really enjoyed meeting Detective Inspector Frank Farrell and his team in this hugely promising start to the series.

As DI Frank Farrell was a priest in a previous life, this makes him stand out from other detectives as he tries to reconcile his faith with his work as a detective. I’m not Catholic so I’m not familiar with a lot of the rituals in this novel but Baldwin’s writing is incredibly well informed and she has created a very strong central character. I enjoyed his relationship with DC Mhairi McLeod and love that he seemed to bring her out of her shell. I am looking forward to seeing more from Farrell and his team.

Dead Man’s Prayer is set in Dumfries, which is an area that Baldwin clearly knows well. From the outset, I was transported to the surroundings in which Farrell was working and this helped me to become fully involved in the plot.

The plot of Dead Man’s Prayer is really well thought out and I loved the twists and turns as Farrell and his team sought out this twisted killer. I had no idea who was responsible and I was gripped as I turned the pages to find out.

Dead Man’s Prayer is available from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s