Annie Darling: True Love At The Lonely Hearts Bookshop

This review is written with thanks to Harper Collins for my copy of True Love At The Lonely Hearts Bookshop via Netgalley.

Blurb:

It’s a truth universally acknowledged that a single woman in possession of a good job, four bossy sisters and a needy cat must also have want of her one true love. Or is it?

Another delightful novel from the author of The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan

Verity Love – Jane Austen fangirl and an introvert in a world of extroverts – is perfectly happy on her own (thank you very much), and her fictional boyfriend Peter is very useful for getting her out of unwanted social events. But when a case of mistaken identity forces her to introduce a perfect stranger as her boyfriend, Verity’s life suddenly becomes much more complicated.

Johnny could also use a fictional girlfriend. Against Verity’s better judgement, he persuades her to partner up for a summer season of weddings, big number birthdays and garden parties, with just one promise – not to fall in love with each other…

Review:

In True Love At The Lonely Hearts Bookshop, we meet Verity Love and her crazy sisters. I loved their relationship with each other and the humour this created. I really enjoyed getting to know them and felt able to relate to them throughout the novel.

It sounds like the dream life to work in and live above a bookshop and I loved the literary references in the novel. In particular, Verity is a fan of Pride And Prejudice and Darling begins each chapter with a quotation from Austen’s book. There are several subtle and more obvious nods to the book throughout the novel which means the plot has an intelligence that kept me interested in the fortunes of the characters. I realised whilst reading that Darling has written a series about the bookshop and I would be very interested in reading on and finding out more.

As well as the comedy moments, Darling also addresses some more serious issues in True Love At The Lonely Hearts Bookshop. She asks questions about relationships, unrequited love and grief, and it was also lovely to read as Verity grew and learnt more about her personality.

True Love At The Lonely Hearts Bookshop is available from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s