Mark Stay and Mark Oliver: Back To Reality

Today I’m pleased to be taking part in the audiobook blog tour for Back To Reality. My review is written with thanks to Heather Fitt for inviting me on the tour and for my copy of the book via the publisher.

Blurb:

A story of second chances that’s impossible to stop listening to.

Jo’s world is about to change forever, and it’s about time. Her marriage is on auto-pilot, her daughter hates her, her job sucks, and it’s not even Tuesday.

As Jo’s life implodes, a freak event hurls her back to ‘90s Los Angeles where, in a parallel universe, she’s about to hit big time as a rock star.

Jo has to choose between her dreams and her family in an adventure that propels her from London to Hollywood and then to Glastonbury, the world’s greatest music festival.

In her desperate quest, Jo encounters a disgraced guru, a movie star with a fetish for double-decker buses, and the biggest pop star in the world…who just happens to want to kill her.

Back to Reality is a funny, heartwarming story about last chances, perfect for fans of Rowan Coleman and Helen Fielding.

Review:

Back To Reality is different to the books I would normally read or listen to, but I am really glad that I chose to listen to it. I was very interested by the concept of an alternate reality, and overall, I feel that Stay and Oliver executed it really well and gave me a lot to think about as I was listening.

As a central character, I related really well to Jo. She is very down to earth and although she makes mistakes, she is just trying to live a normal life with her husband and daughter. The authors also introduce a colourful supporting cast, and between them, they provide several moments of humour.

The plot of Back To Reality is highly engaging and I was drawn into the story really easily. There are some elements of the story that felt a little implausible, but the humour means it’s very easy to forgive!

As the novel reaches its ending, there are some poignant moments which made me think more carefully about some of the messages in the book and added an emotional layer to it.

I loved Kim Bretton’s narration, as her bubbly voice conveyed the lighthearted nature of the majority of the book really well. She kept me engaged from beginning to end.

Back To Reality is available from Audible.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s