Jocelyn Dexter: Shh…

This review is written with thanks to Bloodhound Books for my copy of Shh…

Blurb:

What’s the best way to frighten a Deaf person?

Turn off the light.

It sounds like the beginning of a joke, but it isn’t funny at all.

Annie Black, who is profoundly deaf, finds herself at the heart of a set of brutal murders.  Teaming up with the lead Detective, the pair attempt to understand the psychology driving the killer.

Having a voice, and being able to read not only lips, but body language, Annie realises that the killer is targeting people she knows.

And Annie has lots of friends.  Friends now at risk.

Desperate to save those around her Annie and the police find themselves in a race against time to save people in the deaf community.

And as the murders escalate, the killer’s obsession grows.

Will the police untangle the killer’s motivation before it’s too late for Annie?

Shh is a chilling and twisty psychological thriller from debut author Jocelyn Dexter. It will appeal to fans of authors like Claire McGowan, Cara Hunter and Lisa Jewell.

Review:

The protagonist of Shh… is Annie Black and from the outset, I felt that she was a character with whom I could connect. She is a strong woman who is very intelligent and not afraid to be herself, despite the problems this causes for her within her community. Although she is deaf, she does not allow her disability to prevent her from doing the things she wants to do.

Shh… begins with a very brutal and gruesome killing and from there, it does not let up. The killer’s modus operandi may not be for the more squeamish reader, but although I found the deaths horrific, I was intrigued to find out what made the killer tick and I did enjoy the tension created by each killing.

There are chapters in this novel written from the perspective of the killer and this gave me insight into what had triggered the murderous episodes. The killer is a truly chilling and damaged person and this was conveyed really well.

Many of the suspects and victims in Shh… are deaf, and as we dig deeper into their lives, we discover much more about the deaf community and their attitudes towards their disability and each other. As the community is so close knit, this helps to build a claustrophobic atmosphere which creates some palpable tension! I was fascinated by the way the community works and Dexter has clearly undertaken a huge amount of research to ensure it is portrayed accurately.

Shh… is available from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s