Rhoda Baxter: That Holiday In France

Today I’m pleased to be taking part in the blog tour for That Holiday In France. My review is written with thanks to Sarah Hardy at Book On The Bright Side for inviting me on the tour and for my copy of the book via the publisher.

Blurb:

When Ellie’s boyfriend forbids her from going to France to attend her best friend’s wedding, she decides she’s had enough. She dumps him and goes to France by herself. But travelling alone is scary and Ellie realises how reliant she’d become on the men in her life.

On holiday, she learns to trust her own judgement and grows in confidence. Just when she decides she doesn’t need a man to complete her, she meets Ash, who is everything her ex wasn’t.

But is Ellie willing to give up her new found independence and link herself to another man?

 

Friends to lovers

Heroine asserting her independence

Summer in France

Tiny puddings

That Holiday In France is a standalone story set in the little Yorkshire village of Trewton Royd (and France). Ideal for fans of Mhairi McFarlane or Sophie Kinsella.

Review:

That Holiday In France is a novella which is light and easy to read after all the crime I’ve read recently!

The heroine of the story is Ellie, who has also appeared in other books by the same author. I didn’t realise this at the time of reading but That Holiday In France can definitely be read as a standalone. It took me a while to get to know Ellie, but eventually she was able to come out of her shell and I was rooting for her to find happiness.

That Holiday In France is set partly in Yorkshire, so I was able to recognise some of the places mentioned in the novella, and was definitely able to relate to the “small village” mentality that is evident all the way through.

Although That Holiday In France is a light read, the author does touch upon some serious issues such as coercive control and racism. These are important subjects in today’s society and I appreciate the author’s exploration of them in this way.

That Holiday In France is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

One thought on “Rhoda Baxter: That Holiday In France

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s