Rachel McLean: Deadly Wishes

Today I’m pleased to be taking part in the blog tour for Deadly Wishes. My review is written with thanks to Rachel Gilbey at Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me on the tour and for my copy of the book.

Blurb:

Meet Zoe Finch, West Midlands Police’s newest Detective Inspector. She’s outspoken, ambitious, and damaged. And she’s working a case that could make her career, or cost her everything…

Fresh from the success of the Canary investigation into depravity and corruption at the highest levels, she’s attracted attention. Not least from Assistant Chief Constable Bryn Jackson.

But when Jackson is brutally murdered on the night of his retirement party, Zoe is dragged into a case that’s deeply personal.

All the evidence points to the victim’s downtrodden wife, who has secrets of her own. But Zoe begins to suspect all isn’t as it seems. Could Jackson’s death be linked to the Canary case? And what is her new boss, DCI David Randle, hiding?

Seeking out the truth will force Zoe to confront her own past, and put her career, and her team’s lives, on the line.

Deadly Wishes is a gritty crime thriller perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Caroline Mitchell, and the BBC’s Line of Duty.

Review:

I’ve read a few books by Rachel McLean now and every one is different so I was interested to see how she would tackle the police procedural. The answer is with aplomb! I loved Zoe Finch and her ability to express her opinion even if it’s not popular. We also saw glimpses of her home life and I definitely feel there is more to come out that will give her character even more depth as the series continues. Her colleagues are a diverse bunch and I enjoyed reading as they worked together, particularly Zoe and Mo. I look forward to finding out more about them too.

There is no doubt that McLean is a talented writer. Deadly Wishes is very pacy, so it’s easy to read despite the complex layers that make up the plot. I sometimes worry with complex plots that I will find a book difficult to follow, but this was not the case at all and I enjoyed trying to put all the threads together.

As Deadly Wishes reaches its conclusion, the tension mounts and at times, I was definitely scared for the officers involved. I was keen to find out what would happen and I was turning pages frantically!

Deadly Wishes is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

will

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s