TA Williams: Under A Siena Sun

Happy publication day to TA Williams and Under A Siena Sun. I’m pleased to be taking part in the blog tour, and my review is written with thanks to Rachel Gilbey at Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me on the tour and for my copy of the book via the publisher.

Blurb:

Doctors Without Borders has been Lucy Young’s life for the past four years. After being rescued from a conflict zone, she’s making a change from saving lives under gunfire to practising medicine in safe, serene Siena.

Now treating wealthy patients at a private clinic, she’s never felt less comfortable. She’s used to helping those in dire need – not those in need of a nip and tuck. Her turmoil grows when she encounters injured tennis star David Lorenzo, whose smiles make Lucy forget her aversion to the rich.

She’s soon falling for the sportsman but is she losing herself in this world of excess? All she’s ever wanted was to help the underprivileged, so can her future lie in Siena at the clinic – with David?

This sunny romance is the perfect summer escape for fans of Lucy Coleman and Alex Brown.

Review:

I have read several of TA Williams’ books now and I love his ability to take the reader to some beautiful places. Under A Siena Sun is another one of these books, and I was immediately transported to Siena. I could feel myself soaking up the sunshine, and looking at the fantastic landscapes. Lucy and her friends also spend a lot of time in local restaurants, and my mouth was watering the whole way through! I also enjoyed learning about the history of the area.

Under A Siena Sun features quite a large cast of characters and I enjoyed getting to know them. Williams does give the reader a lot of insight into the characters and why they behave in the way they do, and this helped me to work out which characters I should root for! The hero and heroine, David and Lucy, are definitely two such characters and I was hoping all the way through that they could find a way to set aside their differences.

Williams writes at the beginning of Under A Siena Sun that, in the midst of the Coronavirus pandemic, he is glad that Lucy is a doctor. It is clear from the beginning that Lucy wants to help people and finds it difficult to fit in in an affluent environment. She has reservations about private health care and is keen that everyone should be treated equally. These issues are not often explored in romantic fiction, and it was interesting to see how Lucy’s political views would influence the outcome of the novel.

Under A Siena Sun is available from Amazon.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s