Gytha Lodge: She Lies In Wait


Seven teenagers went down to the woods. Only six came back . . .

30 years later, a body is discovered.

DCI Sheens already knows what’s waiting for him – Aurora Jackson, found at last.

What he doesn’t already know is that it’s murder.

All six witnesses insist on their innocence, but DCI Sheens is sure one of them is lying.

But who?


I know I’m really late to this particular party, but it was definitely worth the wait! I really enjoyed meeting Detective Chief Inspector (DCI) Jonah Sheens and his team, and between them, they are hiding some interesting secrets of their own. I particularly liked the new Detective Constable (DC) Juliette Hanson, and enjoyed reading as she tried to find her way in the team. I look forward to seeing how each of these characters develops as the series continues.

She Lies In Wait has a dual time frame: it is set in the present day but there are several chapters set in 1983, when the original crime took place. This allowed us to get to know each of the suspects and form our opinions on who was responsible for Aurora’s death. I didn’t find any of the characters particularly likeable, as teenagers or adults, but they are well developed and this makes it harder to guess whether or not they are guilty.

Owing to the large number of suspects, the investigation does take a while to get off the ground, but there was still plenty to keep me engaged. Then, as the novel reaches the end, the tension goes up another notch. There are plenty of secrets to be revealed and I was left wondering until the last page.

She Lies In Wait is available from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s