Liz Mistry: Dark Memories

Today I’m pleased to be taking part in the blog tour for Dark Memories. My review is written with thanks to Rachel Gilbey at Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me on the tour and to the publisher for my copy of the book.

Blurb:

THREE LETTERS. THREE MURDERS. THE CLOCK IS TICKING…

When the body of a homeless woman is found under Bradford’s railway arches, DS Nikki Parekh and her trusty partner DC Sajid Malik are on the case.

With little evidence, it’s impossible to make a breakthrough, and when Nikki receives a newspaper clipping taunting her about her lack of progress in catching the killer, she wonders if she has a personal link to the case.

When another seemingly unrelated body is discovered, Nikki receives another note. Someone is clearly trying to send her clues… but who?

And then a third body is found.

This time on Nikki’s old street, opposite the house she used to live in as a child. And there’s another message… underneath the victim’s body.

With nothing but the notes to connect the murders, Nikki must revisit the traumatic events of her childhood to work out her connection to the investigation.

But some memories are best left forgotten, and it’s going to take all Nikki’s inner strength to catch the killer…

Before they strike again.

The heart-stopping and totally addictive new crime thriller from Liz Mistry will keep you reading long into the night! Fans of Angela Marsons, Val McDermid and Rachel Abbott will love Dark Memories.

Review:

This series gets better with each book and I love getting to know Detective Sergeant Nikki Parekh more with each installment. In Dark Memories, Mistry digs deeper into Nikki’s past, and whilst this is often uncomfortable to read, it gave me a lot of insight into why Nikki is the way that she is. However, Nikki is not the only brilliant character in this novel. Her partnership with Detective Constable Sajid Malik is, as always, wonderful and I loved the introduction of Isaac and enjoyed following his journey as he became more independent.

There are sections of Dark Memories that are written in first person from the perspective of the killer. This shows the reader what a twisted individual the killer is, and having an idea of his mindset definitely increased the tension as I began to feel worried for the person who would be the next victim.

I’ve already mentioned that Dark Memories looks in detail at some difficult subjects. I am very impressed with the way that Mistry does this in all her books: none of the violence is gratuitous but she makes sure that her readers go away with a greater understanding of the issues. The crimes in this novel are despicable and I was on the edge of my seat hoping that Nikki and her team would solve them in time.

Dark Memories is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

One thought on “Liz Mistry: Dark Memories

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s