Kim Nash: Moonlight Over Muddleford Cove

Today I’m delighted to be part of the blog tour for Moonlight Over Muddleford Cove. My review is written with thanks to Rachel Gilbey at Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me on the tour and to the author for my copy of the book.

Blurb:

When thirty-four-year-old Nellie Wagstaff loses her job and discovers her fiancé is a cheating scumbag in a single day, she feels like the world has come crashing down. And that’s before the solicitor’s letter, along with a request to visit a place she hasn’t thought about for a very long time.

Heartbroken, Nellie escapes to the beautiful seaside town of Muddleford in Dorset, where she discovers she’s inherited more than she ever bargained for. Nellie never knew why her mother stopped talking to her sister, but now childhood memories of Muddleford come flooding back: long hot summers, the sea glistening beyond the sandy cove… and a stolen kiss with a boy called Jack.

Jack, now a devilishly handsome vet, has the local pet owners swooning over him, and as Nellie and he become close once more, and she gets used to gossiping with the locals and sipping wine at her beach hut with sand between her toes, she’s sure she can feel sparks flying once more. But just as she thinks she might be able to open her heart again, her newest frenemy, the glamourous Natalia, tells her a secret about Jack that changes everything.

Nellie will never know why her mother and aunt parted ways. She’ll sell the house, forget about Jack, and get back to real life. Because there’s nothing for her in Muddleford… is there?

An utterly uplifting and completely hilarious summer read about learning to trust yourself and of finding love and friendship in the least expected places for fans of Jessica Redland, Heidi Swain and Holly Martin.

Review:

It’s no secret to most people that romantic novels are a little out of my comfort zone and I’m much more at home with a grisly murder. I hope it’s not a spoiler to say that Moonlight Over Muddleford Cove has no grisly murders, but nevertheless I loved the book and feel that Kim Nash’s writing gets better with each book.

Kim Nash is great at creating multilayered characters. It wasn’t just Nell who I took to my heart, but a whole community of Women’s Institute members, pet shop owners and pub landlords. There were also some characters who I definitely did not warm to, but they got under my skin and made me root for Nell even more.

Muddleford Cove is a fictitious location but Nash paints it for the reader as if it is completely real. I could picture everything and I loved feeling as though I was there to follow Nell’s adventures.

There was also a small element of mystery which intrigued me as the story developed. I was engaged until the very last page.

Moonlight Over Muddleford Cove is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s