Lucinda Riley: The Seven Sisters

This rreview is written with thanks to Pigeonhole for the opportunity to read and review The Seven Sisters.


The Seven Sisters is a sweeping epic tale of love and loss by the international number one bestseller Lucinda Riley.

Maia D’Aplièse and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home – a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva – having been told that their beloved adoptive father, the elusive billionaire they call Pa Salt, has died.

Each of them is handed a tantalising clue to their true heritage – a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro in Brazil . . .

Eighty years earlier, in the Belle Époque of Rio, 1927, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into aristocracy. But Izabela longs for adventure, and convinces him to allow her to accompany the family of a renowned architect on a trip to Paris. In the heady, vibrant streets of Montparnasse, she meets ambitious young sculptor Laurent Brouilly, and knows at once that her life will never be the same again.

The Seven Sisters is the first book in the spellbinding Seven Sisters series, inspired by the mythology of the famous star constellation. It is followed by The Storm Sister.


I’ve heard a lot about this series so when it appeared on Pigeonhole it seemed like a perfect opportunity to read it.

The Seven Sisters has a dual timeline where we read about Maia in 2007 and the story of her great grandmother Bel in the 1920s. I found the novel easy to read. Both parts of the story are intriguing and I wanted to find out more about these interesting characters. I was engaged for most of the novel and I was able to feel all the emotions involved in their story although it is long and this felt a little daunting to me!

The majority of The Seven Sisters is set in Rio in Brazil and I really enjoyed the descriptions of an area of the world with which I am not familiar. I loved being transported there and learning more about the landscape and the culture.

The Seven Sisters is the beginning of a series and I am looking forward to following the journeys of Maia’s adopted sisters throughout the rest of the series.

The Seven Sisters is available from Amazon.

2 thoughts on “Lucinda Riley: The Seven Sisters

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s