Sophie Flynn: All My Lies

Today it is my turn on the blog tour for All My Lies. My review is written with thanks to Anne Cater for inviting me on the tour and to Simon and Schuster for my copy of the book.

Blurb:

Anna wants to escape.

She doesn’t know when her marriage to James began to feel like a trap or when he became so controlling. All she knows is that she needs to leave before it’s too late.

And she has a plan.

When Anna reconnects with her childhood sweetheart, Sam, she sees it as the answer to her problems. Finally, they’ll have a life together, like they’d always planned – the life she was meant to have.

But the lies are catching up with her . . .

On the morning of their escape, Sam goes missing. Anna knows he wouldn’t leave her, that something must have happened to him.Her search for answers will force her to confront her past, something that she has been running from for a very long time . . .

Perfect for fans of Louise Jensen, Phoebe Morgan and K.L. Slater, this is a twisty, tense psychological thriller about one woman’s hunt for the truth and her ultimate fight to break free.

Review:

All My Lies is a novel with some really toxic characters. From the beginning, there are red flags for almost all of them and this made it really interesting for me. Who is telling the truth? Who can we trust? Why do they behave in the way they do? There are lots of questions and it is these which allow Flynn to write a really intriguing novel. The characters may not be likeable (even Anna makes some strange decisions) but they all got under my skin and at times, I wanted to disappear into the book to shake them or bang their heads together. 

One of the central themes in All My Lies is domestic violence and Anna and James’ relationship causes a really tense atmosphere that even made me wonder if James was following me! It is clear that Flynn has done a lot of research to create a dynamic that is so realistic and there were times I felt really worried for Anna. 

At about two thirds of the way through All My Lies, I thought I had figured out where the novel was going and I was worried it had lost momentum. However, there are some brilliant, well plotted twists that kept me on the edge of my seat right until the very end.

All My Lies is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

One thought on “Sophie Flynn: All My Lies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s