Joel Hames: The Lies I Tell

Today I’m pleased to be taking part in the blog tour for The Lies I Tell. My review is written with thanks to Zoe O’Farrell and the team at Spellbound Books for inviting me on the tour.

Blurb:

SHE’S WATCHING YOU, BUT WHO’S WATCHING HER?

From the bestselling author of Dead North, a tense, claustrophobic psychological thriller perfect for fans of Lucy Foley, Claire McGowan and Clare Mackintosh.

Meet Polly.
Meet Emily.
Meet Belinda.

They’re all me.

My name is Lisa and I’m an identity thief. If I’m not inside your system stealing your money, I’ve probably already stolen it. I’m your friend. I’m your enemy. I’m in control.

Only now, the tables have been turned. I’m in danger. My son is in danger. And I don’t know where that danger’s coming from.

NOBODY CAN BE TRUSTED.

Review:

At the beginning of my copy of The Lies I Tell there was a list of the protagonist’s ten different identities. When I read this, I immediately panicked: I often have trouble keeping up with a full character list but when one character has so many different identities I was worried I wouldn’t have a clue what was going on. However, it is credit to Hames that he treats every identity as a different character and they are all really well constructed. There were parts of all of them I could relate to and I really wanted to know their stories. 

There are some sections of the novel that take us back to Lisa’s childhood and early adulthood. Whilst these were difficult to read as they did indicate some traumatic times, I did feel that it helped me to understand why Lisa (and her alter egos) behaved in the way they did and this allowed me to be more sympathetic towards her character. 

I am by no means a technology expert, so the explanations behind how Lisa maintained her different identities was fascinating to me. I was interested to know where her activities would lead her and the plot is actually very intriguing. As Lisa became more exposed, I wanted to discover who was behind it and why. There were a few surprises along the way as we uncovered the answers. 

The Lies I Tell is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s