Carla Kovach: What She Did

This rreview is written with thanks to Bookouture for my copy of What She Did via Netgalley.

Blurb:

Marissa lives alone in her tiny one-bed apartment. It’s quiet and safe; all she’s ever wanted. But when the police knock on her door with the news that her last remaining family member has died, she comes face to face with the family secret she has spent a lifetime running from.

A witness saw her car outside his house that day, but Marissa knows she’s innocent. She hasn’t seen her uncle in years and remembers going to bed in her own home that night. But she’s had blackouts before and can’t always trust her memory.

Days later, Marissa’s neighbour is found dead in his home, exactly like her uncle. It was no secret that Marissa didn’t get on with her neighbour, but she’d never want to see him hurt.

As you read, you’ll think you know where to draw the line between innocence and guilt. But blame is a dangerous thing, and nothing is ever what it seems…

Perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, Teresa Driscoll and Lisa Jewell, What She Did is a dark and twisty crime thriller that will keep you up all night!

Review:

I’ve read a few of the novels in Kovach’s Gina Harte series and really enjoyed them, so I was interested to see how she would approach a standalone psychological thriller. What She Did is a wonderfully constructed novel where the beginning is creepy and the rest of the novel is creepier! I did wonder at one point whether the tension had peaked too soon as the beginning was so creepy but I was very wrong! 

What She Did is split into chapters of “then” (with various timelines) and “now”. This structure was really effective as it helped us to see how Marissa’s past affects her behaviour in the present day. She has been through some horrific circumstances and this did help me to sympathise with her throughout the novel. 

As the novel gathers pace, I had no idea who to trust in the same way that Marissa doesn’t. I was suspicious of most of the characters at some point. There are lots of twists and turns as we begin to find some answers, and although I did guess parts of it, I was still royally entertained!

What She Did is available from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s