Patricia Gibney: Little Bones

Today I’m delighted to be sharing my review of Little Bones for Bookouture’s Books On Tour. It’s written with thanks to the team at Bookouture for inviting me on the tour and for my copy of the book.

Blurb:

She lifted up her granddaughter from the cot, clutched her to her chest and, without looking at her beautiful daughter lying dead on the floor of her bedroom, ran from the house. Only when she was outside did she let a wail escape her lips, frightening the baby who joined in her screams.

When Isabel Gallagher is found murdered on the floor of her baby’s nursery by her mother, it’s a gruelling case for Detective Lottie Parker. Isabel’s pyjamas have been ripped, her throat cut and an old-fashioned razor blade placed in her hand. As Lottie looks at the round blue eyes and perfect chubby cheeks of Isabel’s baby daughter, she can’t understand who would want to hurt this innocent family.

That very same day she receives a call with devastating news. Another young mother, Joyce Breslin, has gone missing, and her four-year-old son Evan has been abducted from daycare. Lottie is sure that the missing mother and son are linked to Isabel’s death, and when she finds a bloody razor blade in their house, her worst fears are confirmed.

Desperate to find little Evan, Lottie leaves no stone unturned as she delves into Isabel and Joyce’s pasts and when she realises the two women have been meeting in secret, she knows she must find out why.

But when Joyce’s body is found in a murky pond and some little bones are found on a windy hillside, it feels as if this merciless killer will stop at nothing. The bones aren’t Evan’s but can they give Lottie the final clue to find the innocent child before more lives are taken?

This absolutely gripping and unputdownable crime thriller from bestselling author Patricia Gibney will leave you gasping for breath. A perfect read for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Rachel Caine.

Review:

Spending time with Detective Lottie Parker and her team feels like coming home to my family and I am so happy to be back! I love Lottie’s relationship with Boyd, but the fact that her children and deceased husband still play an important role in the series highlights her vulnerability and makes me root for her as a character. The team dynamic is brilliant and it’s given an extra edge in this particular instalment; an aspect of the plot I found really dramatic and was interested to see play out. 

There are lots of different strands to Little Bones, including chapters from the viewpoint of the killer, which means the investigation is quite frustrating for Lottie, but very interesting for me as I tried to put all the pieces of the puzzle together. I was hooked trying to work it out and really appreciated Gibney’s ridiculously tight plotting with plenty of twists to keep me guessing. 

As the investigation comes together, the novel becomes very tense as Lottie and her team try to find the suspects before it is too late. This created a huge adrenaline rush and I was desperate to see how the investigation would conclude. 

Little Bones is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s