Carys Jones: We Are All Liars

I read We Are All Liars as part of a readalong with THE Book Club (TBC) Facebook group. This review is written with thanks to Orion for my copy of the book, which I received in three sections.

Blurb:

We’re best friends.
We trust each other.
But…

We are all liars.

Allie, Stacie, Diana, Emily and Gail have been by each other’s sides for as long as they can remember. The Fierce Five. Best friends forever. But growing up has meant growing apart. And little white lies have grown into devastating secrets.

When Gail invites the increasingly estranged friends to reunite at her Scottish cabin, it could be the opportunity to mend old wounds and heal the cracks in their friendship. But when a freak snowstorm rocks the cabin and one of the girls is found dead on the ice, their weekend away becomes a race against time – and each other – to get off the mountain alive.

And in the end, whose story can you trust, when everything was founded on lies to begin with?

A rip-roaring psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming – perfect for fans of Lucy Foley’s The Hunting Party and Ruth Ware’s In A Dark, Dark Wood

Review:

I’ve read a few novels by Carys Jones now so I was looking forward to getting into We Are All Liars. This was my first readalong experience and I enjoyed sharing comments with others and learning what other people thought, particularly their predictions as we received the book in three sections. 

We Are All Liars is mostly character led as we learn more about Allie, Stacie, Emily, Gail and Diana and their friendship. It did take me a while to fully get to grips with who was who, but from the beginning I could see the potential in these characters. They are all keeping secrets and lying to each other and I wanted to know what these secrets were, even if at times I did have to suspend my belief. 

In the third section, the tension increases and I found this part to be the most engaging. I wanted to know how the weekend would pan out. It did not go in the direction I expected and this does make the novel stand out slightly more within this crowded genre. 

We Are All Liars is available from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s