Maria Hoey: Bad Sweet Things

Today I’m pleased to be taking part in the blog tour for Bad Sweet Things. My review is written with thanks to Zoe O’Farrell and the team at Spellbound Books for inviting me on the tour and for my copy of the book.

Blurb:

Six women hunted one by one:

Each receive a copy of an old school group photo, in which their own face has been savagely scratched out.
Within three weeks, two of them are dead.

A Detective in a race against time:
Known to her colleagues as the Hound, DS Tina Bassett believes the women were all murdered by the same person.
Someone out there is hunting down the class of 98.

As the death toll continues to rise, DS Bassett desperately delves deeper into the pasts of the women to help uncover the true catalyst to the unfolding rampage in the present.

Will she succeed in stopping a killer hell bent on having their revenge?

Or will the class of 98 finally pay their price…

Bad Sweet Things is the new gripping Irish Crime thriller from Maria Hoey, perfect for fans of Jane Casey, Claire McGowan and Claire Allan.

Review:

I’ve not read anything by Maria Hoey before but I’m honestly not sure how I missed her! The writing in Bad Sweet Things is phenomenal, it’s fast paced, it deals with emotional issues in a sensitive way and there are a few twists and turns as we go along. It has everything I look for in a crime novel and more. 

In this novel we meet Detective Sergeant Tina Bassett, who is exactly my kind of fictional detective. She’s feisty, compassionate and relies a lot on her gut instinct, which may not please her superiors but it pleases me greatly! I loved her partnership with JP and I was rooting for both of them to get to the bottom of this investigation. 

The investigation centres around six women who were in the same friendship group at school. I didn’t find any of them particularly likeable, but as we delve deeper into their teenage years, I did feel some sympathy for them and the things they went through. There are several different elements to the plot, which are put together perfectly and I wanted to keep reading to see how this would happen. I really admire the author’s plotting skills! 

There are a few sections of Bad Sweet Things in which we hear from the killer. I found it very interesting to hear things from their point of view and I found I could actually understand their actions as the plot became clearer. 

I do hope we see more of Tina and JP in the future as I felt like Bad Sweet Things was just the beginning for them! 

Bad Sweet Things is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

2 thoughts on “Maria Hoey: Bad Sweet Things

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s