Fiona Leitch: A Cornish Christmas Murder

This review is written with thanks to One More Chapter for my copy of the book via Netgalley.

Blurb:

A PINCH OF PARANOIA

It’s three days before Christmas, and detective-turned-chef Jodie ‘Nosey’ Parker is drafted in to cater a charity event run by a notorious millionaire at a 13th-century abbey on Bodmin Moor.

A DASH OF DECEPTION

Things get more complicated when a snowstorm descends, stranding them all, and the next morning they find one of the guests has been gruesomely murdered in their bed…

A MURDER UNDER THE MISTLETOE

Secrets mull in every corner – can Jodie solve the crime before the killer strikes again?

A Cornish Christmas Murder is a must-read mystery full of heart and humour – perfect for fans of Richard Osman and The Appeal.

Published in the US as A Murder Under the Mistletoe.

Review:

It was lovely to be back in Penstowan for a festive installment. Leitch builds the wintry atmosphere perfectly, giving us just enough description to take us to the scene and allow us to be part of it, but not too many references to Christmas to overload people like me who struggle to get into the Christmas spirit. 

I always enjoy spending time with Jodie and A Cornish Christmas Murder was no exception. Once again, her eye for drama and sense of humour shines through as she investigates this mystery. Her relationships with her mum, daughter Daisy, Debbie and Nathan are also as well written as ever and I love the way they bounce off each other. 

The mansion is the perfect set up for a locked room mystery and as well as the main characters we know and love, we are also introduced to an interesting group of guests. They all have very different personalities and intriguing back stories and I enjoyed the dynamic between them. This made it fun to try and work out who the murderer was and what had happened. 

I was completely engaged by the mystery and I was keen to find out the method and motive behind it. Leitch builds up intrigue really well and there are a few twists and turns to keep us guessing. 

I really hope this is not the last we see of Jodie and her friends and family! 

A Cornish Christmas Murder is available from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s