Rhys Dylan: The Engine House

Today I’m taking part in the blog tour for The Engine House. My review is written with thanks to Zoe O’Farrell for inviting me on the tour and to the author for my copy of the book.

Blurb:

You can bury the bodies, but you can’t hide the truth.

When a landslip on Pembrokeshire’s stunning coastal path reveals the harrowing remains of two bodies, ex-DCI Evan Warlow’s quiet retirement is shattered.
As the original investigator for the two missing persons eight years before, Evan is recalled to help with what is now a murder inquiry. But as the killer scrambles to cover up the truth, the body count rises.
Working with a new young team, Warlow peels away the layers to reveal the dark and rotten heart that beats beneath the chocolate box tranquillity of an area renowned for its quiet beauty.
But does he still have what it takes to root out the monstrous truth before all hell lets loose?

The Engine House is the gripping debut crime thriller set in the heart of wild Wales from author Rhys Dylan. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, JD Kirk. JM Dalgliesh and Simon McCleave. Celtic noir with a spatter of dark humour.

Review:

I love meeting a new detective and Detective Chief Inspector Evan Warlow definitely has an interesting back story. He has been called back to the police force after leaving and I wanted to know why. I liked his no nonsense approach and his ability to think outside the box and I wanted to know more about him. I was also intrigued by his team and I look forward to seeing how these relationships develop as the series continues. 

The Engine House is set in West Wales and Dylan describes the beautiful scenery really well. I went on a lot of childhood holidays in this area and it was lovely to picture the surroundings in which the novel takes place and be transported to the location as I was reading. 

I found that The Engine House started a little more slowly than some of the other novels in this genre as Dylan lined up a few different elements of the plot. In the second half, as these strands begin to unravel, the plot sprang to life with a few twists and turns along the way. 

I look forward to seeing where the author takes this series! 

The Engine House is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

2 thoughts on “Rhys Dylan: The Engine House

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s