TA Williams: An Escape To Remember

Happy Publication Day to TA Williams with An Escape To Remember. I’m pleased to be joining the publication day blitz and my review is written with thanks to Rachel Gilbey at Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me on the tour and to Canelo for my copy of the book.

Blurb:

She needed a getaway. What she found was a home.

When Louise surprises her boyfriend by returning early from a work trip, safe to say she wasn’t expecting to see him in flagrante with another woman. Heart-torn and vowing to stay away from men, when Louise’s next project involves restoring an ageing hotel in Italy, she leaps at the chance to get away.

Managed by a crew of sextagenarians, the Grand Hotel del Monferrato needs all the love and care Louise can give it. But it’s hard to stay focused on the job when her thoughts keep straying to Vito, the reclusive and mysterious neighbour.

With his tragic past and her no-romance policy, Louise knows they can’t have a future. Yet something keeps pulling the two together…

A beautiful romance set in the hills of Turin, perfect for readers of Lucy Coleman and Alex Brown.

Review:

I normally read gruesome and gory crime novels, so I enjoyed the chance to read something a little lighter. Williams transports us expertly to Italy, describing everything in brilliant detail so that I could really feel as though I was there with Louise. 

An Escape To Remember begins with a rather unpleasant experience for Louise, but I loved seeing how she recovered from it and immersed herself in life in Italy. She is an intelligent, compassionate and down to earth lady and I really enjoyed spending time with her and rooting for her throughout the novel. There are also lots of wonderful supporting characters who each have interesting back stories and I also became involved in their lives as the novel progressed. 

Although An Escape To Remember is a very easy, lighthearted read, Williams does explore some more serious themes. In particular, I felt he took us through Vito’s grief in a touching way which really allowed me to sympathise with him. Vito is also interested in environmental issues and this gives Williams the opportunity to raise issues that are relevant to our every day lives. 

I was sad to leave these characters behind but I look forward to seeing what Williams does next! 

An Escape To Remember is available from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s