Charity Norman: Remember Me

Today I’m delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Remember Me. My review is written with thanks to Anne Cater for inviting me on the tour and to the publisher for my copy of the book.

Blurb:

They never found Leah Parata. Not a boot, not a backpack, not a turquoise beanie. After she left me that day, she vanished off the face of the earth.

A close-knit community is ripped apart by disturbing revelations that cast new light on a young woman’s disappearance twenty-five years ago.

After years of living overseas, Emily returns to New Zealand to care for her father who has dementia. As his memory fades and his guard slips, she begins to understand him for the first time – and to glimpse shattering truths about his past.

Are some secrets best left buried?

Another page-turning, emotive suspense novel from the Richard & Judy bestselling author of After the Fall and Radio 2 Book Club pick, 2020’s The Secrets of Strangers – ideal reading-group fiction, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Clare Mackintosh.

Review:

In 2020, The Secrets Of Strangers was one of my favourite books of the year and it still sticks with me to this day, so I was so pleased to have the opportunity to shout about Remember Me. The two books cannot really be compared, but Charity Norman’s writing talent cannot be denied. 

There are two elements to Remember Me: the mystery of what happened to Leah Parata and Felix Kirkland’s worsening memory as a result of his Alzheimer’s diagnosis. The way Norman weaves these elements together brilliantly and it means that the novel handles both a story that will tug on your heartstrings and a mystery to keep the reader intrigued. There are so many layers to the story and this makes it incredibly compelling. 

Remember Me is set in a small village in New Zealand, which has a close knit community where everyone knows each other. Norman’s descriptions are very detailed which really helped me to picture the scenes and become immersed in the story. I lived in a small town where everyone knew everyone as I was growing up, so I really related to this dynamic and the description helped to understand how both elements of the story would affect the community. 

Norman has researched every aspect of this novel really thoroughly and the situations in which each character finds themselves feel so raw and real. I felt really emotional as I was reading and felt deep sympathy for each character. This book will stay with me for a while to come. 

Remember Me is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

One thought on “Charity Norman: Remember Me

Leave a Reply to annecater Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s