Keith Nixon: Blood Sentence

Today I’m joining the blog tour for Blood Sentence. My review is written with thanks to Zoe O’Farrell for inviting me on the tour and to the author for my copy of the book.

Blurb:

Three bodies, one suspect. That suspect is you…

When the unidentified corpse of an apparent suicide victim is found hanging above a complex pattern of forty photographs of children, Detective Inspector Jonah Pennance of the Met’s specialist Sapphire Unit is brought in to investigate.

A post-mortem reveals the suicide was murder, and Pennance realises he knows the man. But as the body count rises, all the signs point to a care home in Kent – a place that Pennance is all too familiar with.

The problem is the only person connecting the victims is Pennance – and he has a solid motive for wanting them dead… Can Pennance prove his innocence?

Perfect for fans of Ian RankinStuart MacBride, and Peter James Blood Sentence is the first book in the explosive series featuring Detective Inspector Jonah Pennance.

Review:

The premise of Blood Sentence is unique and incredibly intriguing and I love that this makes it stand out from the crowd in a genre that is really popular. It’s difficult to find a hook that will make readers sit up and take notice but I honestly believe that Nixon has achieved this. I was certainly engaged from the outset and this did not stop until I had finished reading. 

The central character is Jonah Pennance and I really liked his no nonsense attitude and determination to find the answers, however difficult it might be. I enjoyed his relationships with the other members of his team, particularly Simone Smithson and Yvonne Hamson and I like the way they seemed to balance each other out. Nixon has built interesting and complex back stories for these characters and I am looking forward to seeing how they develop as the series continues.

The plot of Blood Sentence is complex and brilliantly thought out. Nixon is a very talented writer and I will definitely be following this series as it goes on. 

Blood Sentence is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

One thought on “Keith Nixon: Blood Sentence

Leave a Reply to Zoé O'Farrell Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s