Dandy Smith: One Small Mistake

Blurb:

One small mistake. One deadly consequence.

Elodie Fray wants to be more like her perfect sister, Ada, the one her parents are actually proud of. When she decided to quit her job and pursue her dream of becoming an author, she thought it would be her time to shine, but a year on nothing has happened. And she’s getting desperate.

When Elodie makes one small mistake on a drunken night with a friend, things quickly spiral and suddenly everyone believes she has a book deal. Unable to find a way back from her little lie, her perfect dream becomes a perfect nightmare – and desperate times call for desperate measures.

Meanwhile, everything is not as it seems in Ada Archer’s perfect life. When her sister suddenly disappears, she questions everything – from her marriage, to the man who’s been charged with Elodie’s abduction. The papers say it’s him, but the more she digs into her sister’s life the less convinced she is. Ada will do anything to discover the truth, even if it kills her.

No one knows what happened to Elodie Fray, and now her only chance of survival is her sister.

Perfect for fans of B A Paris, Louise Candlish and Erin Kelly.

Review:

I don’t really know what I was expecting from One Small Mistake, but it absolutely wasn’t what I got. The biggest compliment I can pay this novel is that I was reading it as part of a buddy read and I (as well as a few other members of our group) could not help but read on when we were supposed to stop! 

One Small Mistake is split into sections of “before” and “after” Elodie’s disappearance. This gives the reader so many questions and I really wanted to find out the answers. 

The characters are brilliantly observed and they are characters that most people will be able to relate to from real life. The author sets up a wonderful dynamic between the characters, particularly Elodie and Ada and their parents and this really helped me to get under their skin and be consumed by their story. I was particularly interested in how they felt their life choices had affected their relationship with their parents and with each other. As the plot gathered pace, I found my opinions on the characters and their motives gradually changing. I really admire the author’s skill in being able to create characters who really made me think. 

One Small Mistake has amazing plotting and is full of tension from beginning to end. Many of the chapters end on a cliffhanger and as the story reaches the end, I was completely on edge and frequently found myself holding my breath, wondering how each situation would be resolved. 

I am so glad to have found a new author to me so early in the year, and I can’t wait to read more from her! 

One Small Mistake is available from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s