Caroline Mitchell: The Midnight Man

Blurb:


‘I remember the day I died quite clearly.’

Blackhall Manor has witnessed many dark crimes, long before five teenage girls break in to play the Midnight Game. It was supposed to be a game, but only four girls come home.

Detective Sarah Noble has just returned to the force, and no one knows more about Blackhall Manor than her. Except perhaps Elliott Carter, who is only seven but has seen things in his dreams most adults could never imagine.

It’s a case that will bring them together and shake Sarah to her core. Will she be ready to meet the Midnight Man?

A gripping and twisty thriller, perfect for fans of C. J. Tudor, Cara Hunter and Alex North.

Review:

The first thing to say is that I loved the atmosphere in The Midnight Man. From the very beginning, it is easy to tell that Blackhall Manor is an incredibly creepy place and the myths that surround it make it almost a character in itself. I wanted to get to the bottom of the stories behind it. 

The town of Slayton has a very close community, where everyone knows everyone. I lived somewhere similar to this when I was younger, so I am aware of how suffocating it can be and this added to the atmosphere. I will admit that it took me a while to get my head around who was who, but once this was clear, I enjoyed getting to know them all and learning more about their backgrounds. In an investigation that takes over the town, they were all suspects and, as I read the novel as a buddy read, it was fascinating to discuss our theories and debate the likelihood of each one.

Although it took me some time to become fully invested in The Midnight Man, I loved the fast pace of the novel and once I was hooked, it was very difficult to let go. There are some chapters which are written from the killer’s point of view and I appreciated the opportunity to get inside their mind. There are a lot of questions in this novel and I was desperate for answers to them. Caroline Mitchell brings everything together really well in a very tense ending. 

I am now excited to read the sequel to The Midnight Man

The Midnight Man is available from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s