Samantha Goodwin: Murder At MacBeth

 

This review is written with thanks to Samantha Goodwin for my copy of the book.

Blurb:

International Flash 500 Novel Award Longlist

 

WHOSE DEADLY SECRET HAS TAKEN CENTRE STAGE?

 

When a talented, young actress unwittingly stabs herself live onstage after a prop knife is tampered with, suspicion immediately falls on her eclectic band of castmates.

 

But who had the motive to kill the show’s leading lady?

 

As the insightful, yet disillusioned, Detective Inspector Finley Robson and his shrewd partner, Detective Sergeant Nadia Zahra, interrogate the seven key suspects, secrets unfold to unveil a web of scandal, blackmail, and deceit.

 

Bitter rivalries, secret trysts and troubled pasts are just the beginning of the story…

 

Set against the backdrop of a gritty London theatre production of Macbeth, this compelling novel explores a dark world of mystery and intrigue. All is not as it seems…

 

A hugely gripping police procedural full of unpredictable twists and suspense, Murder at Macbeth will captivate you from the very first page and keep you guessing right until the end.

 

With an intriguing plot and distinctive characters, this English murder mystery is a compelling whodunnit which is perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins, Karin Slaughter and LJ Ross.

Review:

When Samantha Goodwin invited me to review Murder At MacBeth I jumped at the chance as it sounded right up my street  I was so glad I did. This novel is a game of Cluedo in book form as the reader tries, along with Detectives Robson and Zahra, to work out who killed Nikki Gowon. We are introduced to a wide range of characters who are all harbouring secrets, including Nikki herself, and I was captivated by their lives and how they all fit together.

Goodwin uses flashbacks to allow us to see the memories of each character. I felt this was an innovative technique as it meant that the reader could become completely involved in the investigation without having to wade through repetitive interviews and dialogue. As the chapters progressed, there were more and more twists and turns and I became gripped by their secrets and lies.

Detectives Robson and Zahra are also very interesting characters and although they are very different in terms of personality and approach to their work, they make a great partnership and I love the dynamic between them. I think they would make a wonderful series, but I am not sure if the author has plans to bring them to the page in future.

I also love the theatre and I am partial to a bit of Shakespeare. I thoroughly enjoyed the way that theatrical conventions and Shakespearean text were weaved into the narrative to give the novel extra meaning.

Murder At MacBeth is available from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s