Erin Kinsley: Found

Today I’m delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Found. My post is presented with thanks to Anne Cater, who invited me on the blog tour, and to Erin Kinsley for her guest post.

Blurb:

‘One of those rare finds – a page turner that is equally remarkable for the beauty of the writing. It will suck you in and take you on a journey that stays with you’ Jo Spain, international bestseller.

 

A gripping, heart-wrenching thriller with the emotional power of series like BROADCHURCH and THE MISSING, this is the perfect read for fans of Cara Hunter, Susie Steiner, Fiona Barton and Nuala Ellwood.

 

When 11 year old Evan vanishes without trace, his parents are plunged into their worst nightmare.

Especially as the police, under massive pressure, have no answers.

 

But months later Evan is unexpectedly found, frightened and refusing to speak. His loving family realise life will never be the same again.

 

DI Naylor knows that unless those who took Evan are caught, other children are in danger. And with Evan silent, she must race against time to find those responsible…

Guest Post:

Erin Kinsley tells us ten things about herself.

1. I need total silence when I’m writing. When I hear about authors who write in cafes, on trains and planes or listening to music, I admire them but it’s so not me. The loudest sound I can tolerate is birdsong. Does this make me difficult to live with when I’m working? Yes, very.

2. I love to grow chillies, the hotter the better. I’ve grown Scotch bonnets, habaneros, bird’s eye and jalapenos, but the sad thing is I can’t eat anything hotter than Tabasco. So the dubious pleasure of eating my home-grown jewels is down to my brave other half, who’s game for pretty much anything in the chilli department.

3. I’m too impatient ever to read instructions, whether for appliances, filling out forms or anything else that includes booklets in fifteen different languages. Sometimes I get away with it and sometimes I don’t.

4. My office – where I wrote much of Found – is a 1980s caravan I renovated myself. In summer it’s a lovely little bolt-hole but in winter it’s perishing cold and I write swaddled in blankets, sometimes even resorting to wearing fingerless gloves.

5. My biggest fear is spiders. Can’t bear them.

6. The first book I fell in love with was a brilliant and magical children’s fantasy, Elidor by Alan Garner. It’s one of the books I wish I’d written – others include David Mitchell’s masterpiece Cloud Atlas and Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See. Both these books make me feel I should aim much higher.

7. My favourite TV series ever was Breaking Bad. Such characters, and what a storyline! When it came to the end I was heartbroken, and I still want to know what happened to Jesse – maybe I’ll soon find out, since a Breaking Bad movie seems to be on the cards. My guilty TV pleasure is Bake Off. I’m a huge fan, and dream of maybe one day receiving a Paul Hollywood congratulatory handshake for perfect pastry.

8. Speaking of perfectionism, I’m a true perfectionist in my writing. I write very rough first drafts, but after that I hone and polish my work until every sentence is the best I can make it. I’d regard ten or twelve revisions as an absolute minimum.

9. I really enjoy board games, especially at Christmas. I’ll play pretty much anything, but I’m hugely competitive and always play to win.

10. Japan is my dream travel destination. I find everything about it – the culture, the cities, the obsession with beauty – fascinating. Everything, that is, except the food. I’m not good with raw fish and sushi, so if I’m ever lucky enough to go, I’ll probably pop a few sandwiches in my suitcase.

***

Found is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

 

One thought on “Erin Kinsley: Found

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s