Emily Harvale: Coming Home To Merriment Bay Part 2: Sparks Fly

Today I’m pleased to be taking part in the blog tour for Coming Home To Merriment Bay Part 2: Sparks Fly. My review is written with thanks to Rachel Gilbey at Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me on the tour and for my copy of the book via the publisher.


Part Two of this heartwarming four-part serial about finding the strength to put the past behind you and to reach out for a future filled with happiness and love.

Cat Devon knew she couldn’t avoid Amias Wells for long. She also knew sparks would fly the moment they came face to face. They never did get on and nothing has changed in eighteen years – except that Amias is even more annoying. So why does Cat still catch her breath whenever he looks her way?

The fact he flies a vintage Spitfire for the Merriment Bay WWII Museum doesn’t interest Cat, but his knowledge of the former RAF pilots stationed there certainly does. She wants to find out all she can about the man in the photo in Viola’s trunk. And what with hospital visits, dealing with her mum, and sorting out problems with Viola’s house, Cat could use more than just Kyra’s help.

But Kyra makes it clear she thinks Cat and Amias should spend more time together. Which is ridiculous. Apart from the fact they don’t get on, Amias wasn’t interested in Cat before the accident that left the ugly scars on her face and body, so he definitely won’t be attracted to her now. Besides, Cat’s not looking for romance. She’s happy with her life just the way it is.

This is Part Two of a new, four-part serial. The parts are:

Coming Home to Merriment Bay – Part One: A Reunion

Coming Home to Merriment Bay – Part Two: Sparks Fly

Coming Home to Merriment Bay – Part Three: Christmas

Coming Home to Merriment Bay – Part Four: Starry Skies

This is a novel told in four parts. It forms Book One in Emily Harvale’s Merriment Bay series which is interconnected to her Wyntersleap series. Each series can be read alone, but several characters appear in both series.


Coming Home To Merriment Bay Part 2: Sparks Fly begins where the prequel left off. You might remember there were a number of questions that were still to be answered. These issues dominate this novella and provide a great deal of tension to keep my interest piqued.

I also enjoyed learning more about the characters and the relationships they have with each other. Once again, the characters are superbly drawn and each one has elements I was able to relate to. At times, I did not agree with the decisions they were making but I was  able to understand why they had done so. I was particularly pleased to see Kyra come out of her shell a little more

I like the way this series has been structured, almost like a soap opera with cliffhangers at the end of each novella. Coming Home To Merriment Bay Part 2:Sparks Fly may answer some questions but it raises just as many and I’m excited to see what comes next!

Coming Home To Merriment Bay Part 2: Sparks Fly is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s