Carol Wyer: The Blossom Twins

Today I’m delighted to be back with DI Natalie Ward, joining the blog tour for The Blossom Twins. My review is written with thanks to Kim Nash at Bookouture for inviting me on the tour and for my copy of the book via Netgalley.

Blurb:

Their parents thought they were hiding…

One beautiful summer’s evening, thirteen-year-old twins Ivy and Erin Westmore snuggle down in a tent in their back garden, giggling and sharing secrets.

When their mother goes to wake the girls the next morning, their tent is empty.

The alarm is raised and Detective Natalie Ward is put onto the case. When the twins’ bodies are discovered on nearby marshland, covered with deep pink petals, an icy shiver travels down Natalie’s spine. Everything about the girls’ deaths reminds her of a horrifying case she worked on earlier in her career, which saw a killer of the worst kind placed behind bars.

The next day, that feeling is heightened when she receives a chilling note saying ‘I’m back’. Is this killer a copycat or did Natalie put the wrong person in prison all those years ago? In a small town, where no stranger goes unnoticed, what is Natalie missing?

Consumed by the case, determined to prevent more deaths, Natalie misses the fact that it is her attention the killer wants. And to get it, he has his sights set firmly on her precious daughter Leigh…

Gripping, fast-paced and nail-bitingly tense, this book will keep you flying through the pages long into the night. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

Review:

I can’t believe we have already reached Book 5! The Blossom Twins is, as I expected, just as brilliant as its predecessors and I was excited to be back with Natalie and her team. Wyer has pulled a master stroke by shaking the team up a bit  The absence of Murray changes the dynamic of the team and I really enjoyed reading as they learnt to work with each other.

It was interesting to look back at Natalie’s time in Manchester as this gives the reader insight into what makes her tick as a detective and we learn even more about her than we knew before.

The investigation is quite slow to get going as the killer sends the team in several different directions. However, as the team close in on the killer, the tension really builds and I was on tenterhooks wondering what they would find.

At the end of The Blossom Twins, Wyer throws us a massive curveball and I am looking forward to seeing how this has an impact on the characters that now feel like family in future.

The Blossom Twins is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

One thought on “Carol Wyer: The Blossom Twins

  1. What a fabulous review! Thank you for it and for being part of the tour and for enjoying the book as much as I did writing it. It seemed odd not having Murray around for a while but he’ll be back in the next book although I can’t promise there won’t be more surprises. xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s