DK Hood: Her Broken Wings

I’m delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Her Broken Wings today. My review is written with thanks to the team at Bookouture for inviting me on the tour and for my copy of the book via Netgalley.

Blurb:

The sound that wakes her from sleep is unmistakable—someone is in their house. She listens as heavy footsteps start up the stairs, and as the bedroom door is flung open, she doesn’t even have time to scream…

Following a frantic emergency call in the middle of the night, Detective Jenna Alton arrives at a secluded family home to find the body of Lucas Robinson lying in a pool of his own blood in his bed. His wife Carol, shivering in shock, has just watched an intruder shoot her husband in cold blood.

As Jenna investigates the murder, she soon discovers that Lucas was having an affair. And when his mistress is also found strangled to death in the center of the small town, Jenna is convinced that the murderer is living amongst them.

When the killer escalates with a mass murder at a remote ranch on the outskirts of Black Rock Falls, Jenna knows for sure that she’s dealing with a murderer more twisted than any other she’s faced before.

As the town begins to fill with revelers for the annual Halloween festival, Jenna has to work fast to stop any more lives being taken. But as the killer always seems to be one step ahead of the investigation, has she finally met a murderer who can outsmart her?

Fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter and Rachel Abbott will love this compelling and nail-biting crime thriller from bestselling author, D.K. Hood.

Review:

The first thing that stands out to me in Her Broken Wings is the setting. The isolated area of Black Rock Falls is encountering a storm, which Hood describes so well and I immediately felt myself drawn to the scene and feeling the same anxieties that the characters would experience in such harsh conditions.

It is hard to believe that we have now reached the eighth book in the series and it just gets better and better. I love spending time with Alton and Kane, whose relationship goes from strength to strength as they always have each others’ back. It was interesting to see how they react to an additional member of the team in Jo, who is a psychological profiler, and I would be interested to learn more about her life in future instalments.

The investigation in Her Broken Wings definitely feels more complex than in the previous books in the series, and I found Hood’s exploration of disassociative identity disorder absolutely fascinating. It must have involved an incredible amount of research and I must commend Hood for weaving it into the plot so well.

As the novel reaches its conclusion, there is a definite sense of danger. I loved the tension this created and I often found myself reading really fast to find out what happened!

Her Broken Wings is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

 

One thought on “DK Hood: Her Broken Wings

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s