Carol Wyer: Somebody’s Daughter

Today I’m delighted to be part of the Books On Tour for Somebody’s Daughter. My review is written with thanks to the team at Bookouture for inviting me on the tour and for my copy of the book via Netgalley.

Blurb:

One by one the girls disappeared…

When the frail body of a teenage girl is discovered strangled in a parking lot, shards of ice form in Detective Natalie Ward’s veins. As Natalie looks at the freckles scattered on her cheeks and the pale pink lips tinged with blue, she remembers that this innocent girl is somebody’s daughter…

The girl is identified as missing teenager Amelia Saunders, who has run away from home and her controlling father. Natalie’s heart sinks further when it becomes clear that Amelia has been working on the streets, manipulated by her violent new boyfriend Tommy.

A day later, another vulnerable girl is found strangled on a park bench. Like Amelia, Katie Bray was a runaway with connections to Tommy, and Natalie is determined to find him and track down the monster attacking these scared and lonely girls.

But when a wealthy young woman is found murdered the next morning, the word ‘guilty’ scrawled on her forehead, Natalie realises that the case is more complex than she first thought. Determined to establish a connection between her three victims, Natalie wastes no time in chasing down the evidence, tracing everyone who crossed their paths. Then, a key suspect’s body turns up in the canal, a mole in Natalie’s department leaks vital information and everything seems to be against her. Can Natalie stop this clever and manipulative killer before they strike again?

An unputdownable crime thriller from an Amazon bestselling author that will have you sleeping with the light on. This gripping rollercoaster ride is perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Rachel Caine. Prepare to be totally hooked!

Review:

I am a massive fan of the Natalie Ward series and Somebody’s Daughter could well be the best book yet! Following on from the events of The Secret Admirer, we see that the team has undergone a slight reshuffle. I enjoyed seeing how Natalie, Lucy and Murray reacted to the new team dynamic and how they got along with the newer members of the team. There is a lot of potential in this team and I look forward to finding out more about them. 

Somebody’s Daughter is darker than its predecessors and. Wyer has tackled some interesting subjects such as prostitution, rape and drug use. It made uncomfortable reading at times but the topics are handled with sensitivity as Wyer reminds us, as the title suggests, that the victims are always somebody’s daughter, no matter what they have done or what their circumstances may be. 

The investigation takes some time to get off the ground, but this gives Wyer the time to let the reader know a little more about the people involved. I appreciate this approach as it helps me to think about what may have motivated the killer and who the killer may be. The slow burning plot doesn’t last forever though, as towards the end of the novel, there is a definite sense of tension and danger and I was on the edge of my seat! 

In Somebody’s Daughter, Wyer begins to answer some of the long held questions of this series and there is definitely more to come out of these revelations. I look forward to seeing what happens next!

Somebody’s Daughter is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the Books On Tour schedule here:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s