Mark Brownless: The Shadow Man

Today I’m pleased to be joining the blog tour for The Shadow Man. My review is written with thanks to Zoe and the team at Spellbound Books for inviting me on the tour and for my copy of the book.

Blurb:

What if the memories of your childhood were a lie?

One Dream was all it took and all the memories of thirty years before started to flood back.

Not the idyllic coming of age summer down by the lake that they remembered. But dreams of death and of fear and of the burnings.

Dreams of the Shadow Man.

Will they finally face what had happened to them that summer?

Can they finally confront him once and for all?

The Shadow Man is the terrifying and utterly spine tingling new horror from the author of The Hand of Angel , perfect for fans of Alex North , CJ Tudor and  Stephen Chbosky.

Review:

I loved the premise of The Shadow Man when I read the blurb and it really delivers. Brownless writes in a really atmospheric way which made me able to picture the surroundings and the claustrophobic setting of the small village. I was really intrigued by the story of the shadow man and was eager to discover what was going on beyond the myths. 

The Shadow Man has a dual timeline with part set in 1985 and part set in the present day. Brownless distinguishes between these times really well and is particularly good at underlining the differences in culture. This really helped me to become immersed in the novel as I understood how the events of the past affected the characters in the present. 

There is an undercurrent of tension the whole way through the novel but as we reach the end this increases so much and I really wanted to know how it would end! I did not see the ending coming at all but it is a fitting end to a very well plotted story.

The Shadow Man is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

One thought on “Mark Brownless: The Shadow Man

Leave a Reply to Zoé O'Farrell Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s