Jane Isaac: One Good Lie

I’m pleased to be taking part in the blog tour for One Good Lie today. My review is written with thanks to Emma Welton of damppebbles Blog Tours for inviting me on the tour and to the publisher for my copy of the book.

Blurb:

On the night of her mother’s wake, Ewan kisses a shocked Ruby. They both agree to pretend that the kiss never happened – in fact, according to Ewan, no one even needs to know he walked Ruby home.

Because Ewan is seeing Ruby’s sister, Sophie. He’s been wonderful to Sophie, comforting her after her mother’s murder and taking care of her little kids, too. In short, he’s been the perfect boyfriend. This was just a stupid mistake.

But when Ruby learns of another woman’s murder close to Ewan’s route home on the night of the kiss, she fears that her lie has left her sister in terrible danger.

After all, how well do the sisters really know Ewan? How well do they know each other? And are they sure they know the truth about what really happened on the day their mother died?

A gripping and unputdownable thriller that will keep you guessing into the early hours of the morning. Perfect for fans of Claire McGowan, Sue Watson, and Jackie Kabler.

Review:

One Good Lie is a masterclass in how to write a psychological thriller. The title is a tiny bit misleading as there is not just one lie, but in fact too many to count and I had no idea who to trust at any one time. Isaac builds up suspicion for everyone and I really enjoyed reading as the different parts of the story unravelled. 

Of course, an author cannot do this without characters that get under a reader’s skin and Isaac has created a pretty horrible bunch. It was Ewan in particular that made my skin crawl, but there were definitely others who also made me think twice. There are also some chapters narrated by the perpetrator, which gave me some idea of how twisted he was. 

Towards the end of the novel, the tension builds even further and the final few scenes are especially tense. I loved how fast paced the whole book is and I was completely engaged from start to finish.

One Good Lie is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

One thought on “Jane Isaac: One Good Lie

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s