Lesley McEvoy: The Murder Mile

This review is written with thanks to Pigeonhole for the opportunity to read and review The Murder Mile.

Blurb:

Forensic Psychologist Jo McCready was the last person to see her patient, Martha Scott, alive.

During their final session, Jo unearthed a chilling alternate personality claiming to be the reincarnation of Jack the Ripper.

Shortly after, Martha is murdered. But if ‘Jack’ is just a figment of Martha’s damaged mind, who killed her?

When a series of murders replicating the Ripper’s ‘Autumn of Terror’ begins, Jo McCready is brought into the police investigation to profile their killer.

But the further she delves into his mind, the deadlier he becomes. And as the anniversary of Jack’s most gruesome murder looms, is Jo following the clues – or being led into a trap?

An expert in the fields of psychology and profiling, author Lesley McEvoy uses her insider knowledge to create gripping, unique crime novels. Her bestselling thriller debut, THE MURDER MILE is perfect for fans of Elly Griffiths, Ann Cleeves and The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides.

Review:

I’ve had this book on my Kindle for a while now but never got around to reading it, so I jumped at the chance to read The Murder Mile alongside some other lovely Pigeonhole readers. I have no idea what made me wait so long! It is absolutely brilliant and took me completely by surprise. 

The protagonist is Jo McCready and the novel is written in first person from her perspective. As a forensic psychologist, Jo offers a different angle to the investigation which is absolutely fascinating and I loved using her clues and ideas to try and figure out who the perpetrator was myself. As a character, Jo is intelligent and assertive, but also has a vulnerable side and I enjoyed getting to know her. 

I loved the historical aspects of The Murder Mile. McEvoy has done a phenomenal amount of research which she uses to inform a gripping storyline – and it never feels like the information is “dumped” on us. 

The Murder Mile is really well plotted and I was completely engaged the whole way through. I often wished I could read beyond the end of the stave! There are several suspects and it was difficult to know who to trust. I loved trying to put the puzzle together. 

I look forward to seeing where the author takes this series in the future. 

The Murder Mile is available from Amazon.

One thought on “Lesley McEvoy: The Murder Mile

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s