David Field: Beneath The House Of Sin

Today I’m taking part in the blog tour for Beneath The House Of Sin. My review is written with thanks to Zoe O’Farrell for inviting me on the blog tour and to the publisher for my copy of the book.


When a brothel madame is murdered, it looks as if a centuries old witch’s curse on the land has claimed another victim. But as DCI Mike Saxby and his team investigate the background history of the building, other, more sinister, motives emerge. Then a local journalist who had been investigating that same unhappy history is the next to meet a grisly end, and a further discovery by police results in a race against time to prevent a national disaster.
The Mike Saxby Series is a must-read! Six gripping tales that will enthrall you.

David Field is a prolific author and creator of several series, including The Medieval Saga Series.


I’m always interested in the start of a new series and enjoy being introduced to new characters. DCI Mike Saxby was no exception. I loved his no nonsense approach to the crimes he was solving, his suspects and his bickering colleagues. I also liked the way we got a glimpse into his family life, which gives him a human element and makes us root for him.

Although Beneath The House Of Sin is relatively short, Field packs a lot into the story. His investigation is quite complex and I enjoyed the way the novel is plotted. I wanted to know what had happened and I was completely engaged, keen to see how each character was involved. 

I haven’t read anything by this author before but I am interested to see how the series continues. 

Beneath The House Of Sin is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

2 thoughts on “David Field: Beneath The House Of Sin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s