Amelia Henley: The Life We Almost Had

Today I’m pleased to be taking part in the blog tour for The Life We Almost Had. My review is written with thanks to Anne Cater for inviting me on the tour and for my copy of the book via the publisher.

Blurb:

This is not a typical love story, but it’s our love story.

Anna wasn’t looking for love when Adam swept her off her feet but there was no denying their connection, and she believed they would be together forever.

Years later, cracks have appeared in their relationship. Anna is questioning whether their love can really be eternal when a cruel twist of fate delivers a crushing blow, and Anna and Adam are completely lost to one another. Now, Anna needs Adam more than ever, but the way back to him has life-changing consequences.

Is a second chance at first love really worth the sacrifice? Anna needs to decide and time is running out…

A beautiful and emotional love story that asks, how far would you go for a second chance at first love? Perfect for fans of The Man Who Didn’t Call and Miss You.

Review:

It is no secret that Amelia Henley is the pen name of a well known writer who usually writes thrillers, so having read a few of her thrillers, I was interested to see how she would approach a different genre. Her writing is absolutely amazing and I loved the way that she took me to different places, introduced me to some wonderful characters and made me feel every emotion as it radiated from the page.

Amelia Henley has said in interviews about The Life We Almost Had that it is not a conventional love story. She is right, but that doesn’t mean it is any less engaging. From the very first page, I felt completely invested in Adam and Anna’s story and I was thinking about the characters even when I had to set the book aside. Both Adam and Anna are characters I could relate to easily, particularly as we find out more about their backgrounds and what leads them to Alircia on the day they meet each other. They are brilliantly drawn and it is clear that these characters have a special place in the author’s heart.

There is a scientific element to The Life We Almost Had that doesn’t often appear in novels of this genre. Science is not my forte, but I found the ideas that Henley brought to the story absolutely fascinating and she has clearly undertaken a huge amount of research to ensure that this aspect of the story works well.

The Life We Almost Had is set in the fictional resort of Alircia. Although it is fictional, Henley’s descriptions of it are so vivid that I felt as though I was on holiday there myself. It provided a beautiful backdrop to this wonderfully emotional story.

I finished The Life We Almost Had as an emotional wreck and I have to admit that I ugly cried my way through the vast majority of it. It is rare that a novel touches me in this way so it is definitely one that will stay with me for a long time.

The Life We Almost Had is available from Amazon.

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

One thought on “Amelia Henley: The Life We Almost Had

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s